Beavs walkoff with Pac-12 title, will host NCAA regional

Beavs walkoff with Pac-12 title, will host NCAA regional

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Ryan Barnes’ two-out single in the ninth inning gave the Oregon State baseball team a walkoff win in their season finale Sunday at Goss Stadium, defeating Washington State, 7-6.

Barnes drove in Dylan Davis, who had reached two batters earlier on a wind-aided double to right center that fell right in front of WSU right fielder Yale Rosen. Danny Hayes was walked intentionally, which set the table for Barnes to smack a 1-0 pitch from Cougar reliever JD Leckenby into left field.

The win sent the Beavers to a 45-10 overall record and 24-6 Pac-12 Conference record, winning the league by two games over Oregon. The Ducks had lost earlier in the day to Utah, 10-3, cementing the Beavers as the league’s outright champion.

That, however, didn’t deter Oregon State in its comeback win on Sunday.

Shortly after the 2,988 in attendance found out about Oregon’s loss, Davis and Hayes combined to pull the Beavers into a tie. Down 6-4 entering the bottom half of the eighth, Davis hit the first pitch he saw over the left field fence to cut WSU’s (23-32, 9-21) lead to one.

Hayes followed that with a 2-1 solo home run to right, tying the score.

It was the fourth home run of the season for Davis, who finished with two RBI Sunday and nine against the Cougars. Hayes’, meanwhile, was his fifth of the year.

Oregon State jumped out to a 4-0 lead after two innings, highlighted by a three-run second that saw Tyler Smith drive in two on a single. The Cougars, however, chipped away at the lead with a three-run third and two-run fourth. Collin Slaybaugh put Washington State up 6-4 with a sixth-inning single.

Ben Wetzler started for the Beavers and worked five innings, allowing eight hits and six runs before being replaced by Taylor Starr in the sixth.

Wetzler did not figure in the decision. Neither did Washington State starter Scott Simon, who scattered seven hits and four runs in three innings of work.

Oregon State will host the Corvallis Regional next weekend, the NCAA announced on Sunday when it released the 16 host sites for the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

The Beavers are hosting an NCAA Regional for the fourth time in school history, and have gone a combined 9-0 in 2005, 2006 and 2011. Oregon State advanced to the 2013 postseason by winning the Pac-12 Conference with a 24-6 league record. The team’s .800 winning percentage against Pac-12 foes is the best mark in the conference since the league unified prior to the 1999 season.

Oregon State will find out if it has been deemed a national seed on Monday at 9 a.m. on ESPNU. An hour-long selection show will also release the entire field of 64.

Other host schools in 2013 include: LSU, Virginia Tech, Indiana, North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina, Oregon, Cal State Fullerton, UCLA, Louisville, Kansas State, Vanderbilt, North Carolina State, Mississippi State and Florida State.

All-session tickets will be made available to the general public beginning at 7 a.m. on Wednesday (online only until 9 a.m.). Infield reserved tickets are $100 while outfield general admission seats are $75 and student outfield seats cost $56. All-session tickets guarantee the holder to all six games of the regional, and a seventh if necessary game.

Single-game tickets will be made available on each day – pending availability - and cost $20 for infield reserved seats, $15 for outfield general admission and $12 for student outfield seats. The ticket office at Goss Stadium will open at 10 a.m. on the first day of the regional and two hours prior to the first game’s first pitch each subsequent day.