Road to Omaha: Beavers host Roadrunners Friday

Road to Omaha: Beavers host Roadrunners Friday

CORVALLIS, Ore. – The Oregon State baseball team will enter the 2013 NCAA Tournament as the No. 3 National Seed, the NCAA selection committee announced Monday morning.

The seeding is the highest ever for the Beavers, who were the No. 8 national seed in 2005.

Oregon State is the No. 1 club at the Corvallis Regional, which opens play Friday at Goss Stadium. Oregon State will also host No. 2 Texas A&M, No. 3 UC Santa Barbara and No. 4 UT-San Antonio.

The postseason appearance is the 14th all-time for the Beavers, and the fifth consecutive, which extends a program record. The Beavers are 40-26 (.606) all-time in the postseason, including a 23-17 (.575) record in NCAA Regional games.

Oregon State is hosting an NCAA Regional for the fourth time, and have gone a combined 9-0 when hosting in 2005, 2006 and 2011 (since the NCAA expanded into the current Super Regional format).

The Beavers are 18-3 all-time at Goss Stadium in the postseason.

Texas A&M finished the regular season with a 32-27 record and 13-16 record in the Southeastern Conference. OSU and A&M last met in the 2009 Fort Worth Regional when the Beavers won both meetings between the teams.

UCSB finished the regular season with a 34-23 overall record and 17-10 mark in the Big West Conference, which tied the Gauchos for second in the league. The Beavers and Gauchos last met in 2012 with OSU taking 3-of-4 in Santa Barbara.

UTSA finished the regular season with a 35-23 mark and 15-11 record in the Western Athletic Conference, and advanced to the postseason by winning its league tournament championship. OSU and UTSA have only met in 2011, with the Beavers winning, 10-7.

2013 NCAA Corvallis Regional Schedule

Friday, May 31
Game 1 - No. 2 Texas A&M vs. UCSB, 12 p.m.
Game 2 - No. 1 Oregon State vs. No. 4 UTSA, 5 p.m.

Saturday, June 1
Game 3 - Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 12 p.m.
Game 4 - Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 5 p.m.

Sunday, June 2
Game 5 - Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 12 p.m.
Game 6 - Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 4, 5 p.m.

Monday, June 3
Game 7 - Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6 (if necessary), 5 p.m.